MUSIC TRACK REVIEW – Songs I love, and why. Someone like you by Adele


Artist:  Adele
Song:
Someone Like you, from the album: 21

Also the official video is very good too, CLICK HERE (gotta wait through a stupid 15sec ad until it starts)

While this genre of music: this “famous pop singer” stuff, is a genre so often created to make fat producers rich and profit a mainstream music industry so out of touch with much of the great artists out there, I find that there are exceptions to be found, and this is one of them…for me there is no denying the beauty of this song, or how powerfully personal this track has become to me and how acutely it cuts into my own experience, or rather as an incredible contrast…

For me this song really shows a maturity of love missing from so many people and relationships; so many people are empty of what it means to love beyond a carnal experience or an idea of saving money on their tax returns… they embrace a level of selfishness and clingy dependency that is about as far from love as I can imagine…a “love” that ends in bitter hatred is no love at all, and the same is a love that ends in total disregard for that other person, culminating into a climax of complete indifference (as happens to be my own, most painful experience, hence the contrast comment above)  – This song reveals a sincere love, even though the relationship is over, it was clearly one based on the concept of friendship as the fundamental value, and one that as the emotions rise toward that special someone in the chorus, exclaims little more than the well-wishes that their new life would be one of joy, wanting that other person to have the best, even though the best means you are no longer that supreme value for that person, the chorus (the heart of the singer) then collapses into a moment (briefly) of begging they don’t forget you, your values, your contributions to their character…It’s the most you can ask for if you truly care about that person, it’s the most you can hope for.

Isn’t that exactly what so many of us do?  We forget most of it. We no longer have that person and so surely we have nothing.  But that simply isn’t the case, if it was a love worth having in the first place, then it’s a love also worth losing.  Why? Because we are made better by it if it had any value at all.

…We all love, we all gain so much only to feel it all gets washed away; because we are forced to replace the people in our lives that have made some of the biggest impacts to our existence, whether by a failure of principles or by sheer circumstances out of our control, when we lose someone, we eventually turn around and search for the same qualities, the moments of virtue (or vice) in all the experiences we once enjoyed in that past relationship.

We seek those things we most desire and the things we hold in the highest-esteem (sadly these are often not the same thing, but rather exist as a fierce dichotomy of values, at war in our hearts) and we are afraid to try something new, something unknown, we are frightful of what it means to find someone “better” when it’s the case that that what we’ve had previously was so damn great, but mostly we don’t want to risk losing even more.  The pain is too acute and certainly nothing is worth that risk, and so we hesitate… how easy it is to forget the values of good times in themselves and what positive changes it brings to our character, shaping us within the providence of anyone or nobody, or everybody…even free from this person that helped bring those changes in the first place.

We move on and we embrace the pain that comes with it, because the alternative isn’t an option.  We must live or we die and since death is NOT an alternative lifestyle; we find the strength to go on, we find as much of it as possible by subsuming someone else into our world, whose shoulders are surely as tired carrying with the same burdens in this world as we are, and somehow we find the peace and happiness we once believed could never be replaced.  In fact, we are so short sighted in general…we often end up discovering much more the next time around.

We may all; (all of us who are both human AND sane);  love and fear & hope with the same love, fear & hope as everyone else, the same poignancy and the same degree is felt at various times in our lives, but each of us do so with a distinct personality and individualism that nobody else in the world can copy, the way you love is a specific signature of your uniqueness that nobody else can take away or subvert into anything less than a whole picture of who you are in your mind, body, and spirit; and the only person that can over-rule this (in the context of your entire life/being), is yourself. Not even that special someone has this power, because it’s within your grasp to allow someone that degree of sovereignty over you in the first place and it’s something you keep even if that person leaves ultimately…it’s the person you strive to be first and foremost and that you should strive to be alone and forsaken by all. The only person that can define you, for better or worse, can reinforce of undermine your principles, and so shape the very character at your root, is YOU.  You have so many choices of things/people that can help build you or tear you down.

Choose well.

LYRICS:

I heard that you’re settled down
That you found a girl and you’re married now.
I heard that your dreams came true.
Guess she gave you things I didn’t give to you.

Old friend, why are you so shy?
Ain’t like you to hold back or hide from the light.

I hate to turn up out of the blue uninvited
But I couldn’t stay away, I couldn’t fight it.
I had hoped you’d see my face and that you’d be reminded
That for me it isn’t over.

Never mind, I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you too
Don’t forget me, I beg
I remember you said,
“Sometimes it lasts in love but sometimes it hurts instead,
Sometimes it lasts in love but sometimes it hurts instead, ”
Yeah

You know how the time flies
Only yesterday was the time of our lives
We were born and raised
In a summer haze
Bound by the surprise of our glory days

I hate to turn up out of the blue uninvited
But I couldn’t stay away, I couldn’t fight it.
I’d hoped you’d see my face and that you’d be reminded
That for me it isn’t over.

Never mind, I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you too
Don’t forget me, I beg
I remember you said,
“Sometimes it lasts in love but sometimes it hurts instead.”
Yeah

Nothing compares
No worries or cares
Regrets and mistakes
They are memories made.
Who would have known how bittersweet this would taste?

Never mind, I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you
Don’t forget me, I beg
I remember you said,
“Sometimes it lasts in love but sometimes it hurts instead.”

Never mind, I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you too
Don’t forget me, I beg
I remember you said,
“Sometimes it lasts in love but sometimes it hurts instead,
Sometimes it lasts in love but sometimes it hurts instead.”
Yeah

One response to “MUSIC TRACK REVIEW – Songs I love, and why. Someone like you by Adele

  1. wow, brett. such insight! the words are beautiful and sad and also show that the person left has not gotten over the love relationship and has not been able to move on yet. each person we love becomes a part of us. and we are better for having loved, even if it does not last a lifetime. the good we take away from it, the part of that person that helped us grow and mature in our understanding, will be with us always. the emotional response to them as a person fades over time, as it should, but the essence of the love we shared remains a part of us forever.

Leave a Reply

