MUSIC TRACK REVIEW – Songs I love, and why. Slow Motion by Patrick Wolf


Artist:  Patrick Wolf

Song:   Slow Motion from the album Lupercalia

LISTEN LOUDLY, CLOSE YOUR EYES AND LET IT OVERWHELM YOU, then come back & read this.

In the massive ocean of the extremely derivative and formulaic drivel that people know as “love songs” there exists some few shining examples of a true love song.  For me this is one such track…this song has a climax to it that is utterly breathtaking, with a swell of strings so moving it rates as one of the most powerful orchestral arrangements I’ve ever heard in any music.  The song has a genuine classical beauty to it, a real elegance missing from a lot of modern romantic music.  From the moment at 3:53 to the end of the song, the music, lyrics and emotion reach a nearly DIVINE level of integration and at least in my case it overwhelms the senses with the final whispered statement, a yearning really…spoken at 4:18 and the strings that swell up immediately following it are AMAZING.

I remember when I first heard the strange tribal/wild vocalizations starting at 2:01 my thought was (What the hell is that doing in this song), but I’ve since come to appreciate it, I now view the usage of it as a way to highlight the power of the primal emotion being expressed, as a sort of contrast to what is felt and what can be expressed semantically.  First these great passions must lose their coherence, they must dwell in a place devoid of the faculty of reason to make sense of them intuitively; this is no longer a love that can be be merely articulated by speech; so for a moment, (3-4 total in the song) this passion is just as raw and unfiltered and primal as a feeling can be…and then it collapses and the rational sense returns, the clarity, the focus, and the expression of the love in the song is then once again brought forth, demanding attention.

SUCH A GREAT TRACK!

LYRICS:
Before you, I was living,
In my silver fish kitchen.
Fruit fly clouds breathing,
No hope, no religion.

A nightmare on Haslett Road,
I was too young, too weak from the road.
Too proud for help, too scared to grow,
Out of my depth and out of control,
I was so lonely there.

Living in slow motion,
Breathless corrosion.
Waiting for the kiss of life.

Slow motion,
Breathless corrosion.
Waiting for the kiss of life,
The kiss of life.
Waiting for your kiss of life.

City rumors spreading, deep water worth treading.
Yes, I was too young, too weak from the road.
And too proud for help, too scared to grow,
Out of my depth and out of control.

Yes, strangers meet in slow motion,
Breathless devotion,
That night you gave me the kiss of life.

Slow motion,
Breathless, breathless.
That night you gave me the kiss of life,
The kiss of life.
That night you saved me,
The kiss of life.

Wake me out of that deep sleep, darlin’,
Wake me out of that deep sleep, darlin’,
Wake me out of that deep sleep, darlin’,
Wake me out of that deep sleep, darlin’,

…With your kiss…

Wake me out of that deep sleep.
Deep sleep, darlin’.
Deep sleep, darlin’.

Leave a Reply

