Movies I love – Featured video clip – House of Flying Daggers


 *Spoiler Alert – Please don’t watch this clip if you haven’t seen the film, and PLEASE if you haven’t seen it, WATCH THE FILM!!! (**you CAN watch the second video/music below, no spoilers there)

This scene is the last sequence in the film, and it’s such a powerful ending.  I love the visceral realism of the battle between these two men (mostly occurring before the clip above starts), as tragic as it is, that both of them must fight in such unrestrained rage over the woman they love…but it’s just so poetically shot and emotionally stirring, it ranks as one of my favorite endings in a movie (certainly in a martial arts film) EVER. I Love this movie, I love the music score, love it, love it, love it!

The video clip ends and clips off a truly GORGEOUS song during the credits by Kathleen Battle.  It’s worthy of a listen (no spoiler at least, so if you haven’t seen the move, at least listen to this masterpiece of a song.

LYRICS:

There was a field in my old town
Where we always played hand in hand
The wind was gently touching the grass
We were so young, so fearless.

Then I dreamt o’er and over,
Of you holding me tight under the stars
I made a promise to my dear lord,
I will love you forever

Time has passed
So much has changed
But the field remains in my heart
Oh, where are you?
I need to tell you I still love you
So I reach out for you,
You fly around me like a butterfly.
Your voice still echoes in my heart,
You are my true love.

There was a field in my old town,
Where in spring all flowers blossomed wide.
We were chasing butterflies
Hand in hand till close of day.

Your voice still echoes in my heart.

2 responses to “Movies I love – Featured video clip – House of Flying Daggers

Leave a Reply

