Music Tracks – Some of my favorite songs using the metaphor of: FIRE


Some of my favorite songs using the metaphor of:

 

Some of my favorite songs using the metaphor of fire, image from confluencecapitalpartners.com

 

FIRE

The primal natural force that is at the heart of our very existence. From the sun above us, to the many billions of stars that we can see and never touch; forever to be used as a symbolic representation of love (“‘I’d give the stars to you”) and it’s the reason we conquered the darkness of ancient nights,long before we reached the level of technological advancement to flip a light switch or a heater on (avoiding real flames), fire’s warmth kept us alive to survive the most bitter nights; as a fireplace at home, a campfire during the respite of our travels, or a torch lit to show us the path through the most treacherous paths. it’s power is undeniable and its necessity for life, inescapable.

Fire’s red signature color is the color of passion, and it’s no mistake that our lips and tongue are faded imitations of it’s true deepness.  A depth we struggle to embrace with our love and passions.

The following songs represent my personal favorite songs that use fire, and similar expressions (‘flames’, ‘fiery’, ‘burning’, ‘heat’, etc…) so well. The songs here are each worthy of full reviews as I’ve done for other tracks on my page, and a couple already have such reviews (they are noted)…and most of these will have such a treatment done, later at some point.

For me, these are fantastic songs that capture both the scope of fire’s awesome destructive power, but also it’s more subtle ability (as a metaphor) to leave a profound mark on those so afflicted by the touch of it’s flame.

(not ranked in any particular order of personal fondness, except for what I think works well as a playlist.)

Enjoy these Music Tracks and lyrics!

1.  Song: Song Reckless Burning
Artist: Jesse Sykes & The Sweet Hereafter

Lyrics:

Pretty thing, I’ve got you
Right where I used to be
We ride across this city
Starting fires recklessly

And everything is closing
But tonight, we’ll stay awhile
And if this darkness lingers
I’ll fall to you just like a child

Pretty thing, I’ve got you
Right where this trouble lands
With reckless burning
I have been charged again

Goodnight, Irene

2.  Song: Set Fire to the Rain
Artist: Adele

Lyrics:

I let it fall, my heart,
And as it fell you rose to claim it
It was dark and I was over
Until you kissed my lips and you saved me

My hands, they’re strong
But my knees were far too weak,
To stand in your arms
Without falling to your feet

But there’s a side to you
That I never knew, never knew.
All the things you’d say
They were never true, never true,
And the games you play
You would always win, always win.

But I set fire to the rain,
Watched it pour as I touched your face,
Well, it burned while I cried
‘Cause I heard it screaming out your name, your name!

When I lay with you
I could stay there
Close my eyes
Feel you here forever
You and me together
Nothing is better

‘Cause there’s a side to you
That I never knew, never knew,
All the things you’d say,
They were never true, never true,
And the games you’d play
You would always win, always win.

But I set fire to the rain,
Watched it pour as I touched your face,
Well, it burned while I cried
‘Cause I heard it screaming out your name, your name!

I set fire to the rain
And I threw us into the flames
When it fell, something died
‘Cause I knew that that was the last time, the last time!

Sometimes I wake up by the door,
That heart you caught must be waiting for you
Even now when we’re already over
I can’t help myself from looking for you.

I set fire to the rain,
Watched it pour as I touched your face,
Well, it burned while I cried
‘Cause I heard it screaming out your name, your name

I set fire to the rain,
And I threw us into the flames
When it fell, something died
‘Cause I knew that that was the last time, the last time, ohhhh!

Oh noooo
Let it burn, oh
Let it burn
Let it burn

3.  Song: Burnin’ for you
Artist: Blue Oyster Cult

Lyrics: 

Home in the valley
Home in the city
Home isn’t pretty
Ain’t no home for me

Home in the darkness
Home on the highway
Home isn’t my way
Home will never be

Burn out the day
Burn out the night
I can’t see no reason to put up a fight
I’m living for giving the devil his due

And I’m burning, I’m burning, I’m burning for you
I’m burning, I’m burning, I’m burning for you

Time is the essence
Time is the season
Time ain’t no reason
Got no time to slow

Time everlasting
Time to play b-sides
Time ain’t on my side
Time I’ll never know

Burn out the day
Burn out the night
I’m not the one to tell you what’s wrong or what’s right
I’ve seen suns that were freezing and lives that were through

Well I’m burning, I’m burning, I’m burning for you
I’m burning, I’m burning, I’m burning for you

Burn out the day
Burn out the night
I can’t see no reason to put up a fight
I’m living for giving the devil his due

And I’m burning, I’m burning, I’m burning for you
I’m burning, I’m burning, I’m burning for you

4.  Song: Grapevine Fires
Artist: Death Cab for Cutie

Lyrics:

When the wind picked up
And the fire spread
And the grapevines seemed left for dead.
And the northern sky, looked like the end of day,
The end of days.

The wake up call to a rented room
Sounded like an alarm of impending doom.
To warn us it’s only a matter of time.
Before we all burn
Before we all burn
Before we all burn
Before we all burn.

We bought some wine and some paper cups
Near your daughter’s school when we picked her up
And drove to a cemetery on a hill,
On a hill.

Watched the plumes paint the sky gray
As she laughed and danced through the field of graves
There I knew it would be alright
That everything would be alright,
Would be alright
Would be alright
Would be alright
Would be alright.

And the news reports on the radio
Said it was getting worse
As the ocean air fanned the flames.
But I couldn’t think of anywhere I would have rather been
To watch it all burn away,
To burn away.

The firemen worked in double shifts,
With prayers for rain on their lips,
And they knew it was only a matter of time.

5.  Song: In Your Room
Artist: Depeche Mode

Lyrics:

In your room
Where time stands still
Or moves at your will
Will you let the morning come soon
Or will you leave me lying here
In your favourite darkness
Your favourite half-light
Your favourite consciousness
Your favourite slave

In your room
Where souls disappear
Only you exist here
Will you lead me to your armchair
Or leave me lying here
Your favourite innocence
Your favourite prize
Your favourite smile
Your favourite slave

I’m hanging on your words
Living on your breath
Feeling with your skin
Will I always be here
In your room
Your burning eyes
Cause flames to arise
Will you let the fire die down soon
Or will I always be here
Your favourite passion
Your favourite game
Your favourite mirror
Your favourite slave

I’m hanging on your words
Living on your breath
Feeling with your skin
Will I always be here

6.  Song: Sol Solis
Artist: Moving Mountains

My review of this track is here
My full review of this incredible album is here:

Lyrics:

take your hands away from your face
so i can see everything you are
and everything you used to be
you used to be to me
something you dont wanna be, i know.

you, you’re like the sun
and i am earth
together we’re one
but someday
your fire will die
and i’ll grow cold
without sunlight.
and i will freeze, baby
i will die, i’d freeze, i’d die for you.

things, they always die
just give it time.
but we, someday we’ll see
our love will shine,
our love will shine.

your love wont fade, darling.
lover, i cannot do this alone
things like this are better off untold
someday the sun will die and i’ll grow cold
i hope someday your love finds it’s way home.

(cause you are the sun and i am the earth)

7.  Song: Your Heart is an Empty Room
Artist: Death Cab for Cutie

Lyrics:

Burn it down ’til the embers smoke on the ground
And start new when your heart is an empty room
With walls of the deepest blue

Home’s face
How it ages when you’re away
And spring blooms and you find a love that’s true
But you don’t know what now to do
‘Cause the chase is all you know and she stopped running months ago

And all you see is where else you could be when you’re at home
And out on the street are so many possibilities to not be alone

The flames and smoke climbed out of every window
And disappeared with everything that you held dear
But you shed not a single tear
For the things that you didn’t need
‘Cause you knew you were finally free

‘Cause all you see is where else you could be when you’re at home
And there on the street are so many possibilities to not be alone

8.  Song: Salvation Army
Artist: The Gloria Record

[No Video Version is Available, please click link below to play the MP3 audio file)

Note:  Amazing Eargasm(soulgasm) at the 4:45 mark and beyond, so please let it build up and get to that point (it takes awhile)…and enjoy.

Lyrics:

got a job for the salvation
army come and find my
come and save my soul
i got a job for the salvation
army come and find my
come and save
my soul got lost along the way
my soul got lost i cannot say
‘may be down, but never out’
i got a job for the salvation
army come and find my
come and save my
got a statue of my heart inside my chest
got a statue of my heart inside my
dropped it just to see if it would break
but im picking up the pieces
and im saving everyone
im saving everyone
‘may be down, but never out
my sould got lost along the way
my soul got lost i cannot say
‘may be down, but never out’
got a statue of my heart inside my chest
got a statue of my heart inside my
dropped it just to see if it would break
i got a job for the salvation army
ringin a bell   [Note:  EARGASM starts!]
the worlds attached to strings
that pull us to the sun
where we’ll burn for what we’ve done
where we’ll burn for what we’ve done
im saving everyone
im saving everyone
ringin a bell
ringin a bell

9.  Song: Slow Dancing in the Burning Room
Artist: John Mayer

Lyrics:

It’s not a silly little moment
It’s not the storm before the calm
This is the deep and dyin’ breath of
This love we’ve been workin’ on

Can’t seem to hold you like I want to
So I can feel you in my arms
Nobody’s gonna come and save you
We pulled too many false alarms

We’re goin’ down
And you can see it too
We’re goin’ down
And you know that we’re doomed
My dear
We’re slow dancing in a burnin’ room

I was the one you always dreamed of
You were the one I tried to draw
How dare you say it’s nothing to me
Baby, you’re the only light I ever saw

I’ll make the most of all the sadness
You’ll be a bitch because you can
You try to hit me, just hurt me
So you leave me feeling dirty
‘Cause you can’t understand

Go cry about it, why don’t you
Go cry about it, why don’t you
Go cry about it, why don’t you

My dear, we’re slow dancin’ in a burnin’ room
Burnin’ room, burnin’ room

Don’t you think we outta know by now?
Don’t you think we shoulda learned somehow?
Don’t you think we outta know by now?
Don’t you think we shoulda learned somehow?
Don’t you think we outta know by now?
Don’t you think we shoulda learned somehow?

10.  Song: the Earth and the Sun
Artist: Moving Mountains

My full review of this incredible album is here:

Lyrics:

Take your hands away from your face
So I can see everything you are
And everything you’ve been to me
Something you don’t wanna be
Something you don’t wanna be

You, you’re like the sun
And I am earth
Together we’re one
But someday your fire will die
And I’ll grow cold without sunlight
And I will die, baby
And I will freeze

2 responses to “Music Tracks – Some of my favorite songs using the metaphor of: FIRE

  1. Thrice has an entire album about fire, part of The Alchemy Index, a four-disc concept album. Each disc represents one of the four classical elements, and each is incredibly unique to the element by which it is inspired. I encourage you to listen and let us know what you think!

    (I found your blog while looking for the lyrics to mewithoutYou’s Bear’s Vision of St. Agnes. Your interpretation is exquisite!)

Leave a Reply

